I ordered my Smart in July of 07 and have a delivery date of Nov-Jan of 09.
(That's a whole other issue) I logged on to this site to get a feel for the reliability of this car. BOY ARE YOU GUYS SCARRING ME! Stuck shifters,radios not turning off, noises,leaks, phantom stop and starts, rip-off filters...................... Is this car really worth the problems I have heard?
If Nissan or Honda had these kinds of problems with their cars they wouldn't survive.
I understand that ALL new models have their problems but these problems seem to keep manifesting (stuck shifter) and all you people keep saying "It's minor", but why hasn't the Manufacture or dealers fixed these problems already?

Hey don't get me wrong. I've been renting this car everytime I go to England for the last eight years, but is this bad construction or worse
bad design?

Views: 37

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I can understand your concern- and the various problems do seem like things that should not ocur and if they do, shoud quickly be rectified at the factory. But they are minor and the dealers do take care of them.

smartusa has delivered over 16,000 cars so far this year. I don't know what percentage have experienced which of the problems- I've had two, both very minor, and both quickly resolved. My 2001 Mercedes SLK 320 had a problem with the catalytic converters breaking loose and rattling around. It was fixed under warranty. Would I expect something like this on a $55,000 car? No. But for the five years that I drove it I loved every minute of it. My smart is the same way. I love it. Quirky? Goofy? Some niggling problems? Sure. Regrets? Not for a minute.
I concur with the other guys - you are reading the exceptions not the rule, I suspect people with complaints try to use this site to embarrass smart into quicker action, don't be scared, the cars are a blast to drive, if you want to see a clever video, check out this link
http://www.truthaboutsmart.co.uk/