Hello, newbie here, just picked up my 2009 Cabrio last night. Loving it, took a long ride today with the wife, had a great time and smiled when I refueled !! I got 41 mpg and that was going a constant 70 with the A/C on the entire time !! Ya gotta love that.

My question is; I spent my entire youth driving Jeeps. The common mantra was, "Don't lock the doors, it's cheaper to replace what was stolen then to replace what was stolen AND a new top !" because someone will cut the top to get in.

What's the common feeling here ? Lock 'em ? No ? I lock them out of habit right now, and I believe I read in the owners manual that the doors lock automatically after 60 seconds, making any choice moot.

Has anyone had the 'puter reprogrammed to not lock the doors ? Is this even possible ?

Views: 8

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I think the doors only RE-lock if you UN-lock but then don't open a door? But I have an '08 so maybe it's different. I had to go back to the manual to figure out how to lock without setting the alarm due to dog vs motion sensor--happened twice and she wasn't happy!
Susan Baker said:
I think the doors only RE-lock if you UN-lock but then don't open a door? But I have an '08 so maybe it's different. I had to go back to the manual to figure out how to lock without setting the alarm due to dog vs motion sensor--happened twice and she wasn't happy!

Looks like I have a test to do....

Like I need another reason to go outside and play with the thing.... :)